PEEL DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD

Minutes of the Inaugural Meeting of the Peel District School Board, held in the Board Room, the H. J. A. Brown Education Centre, 5650 Hurontario Street, Mississauga, Ontario, on Wednesday, November 16, 2022 at 19:00 hours.

Present:

Bruce Rodrigues, Supervisor

Members present:

Lucas Alves
Karla Bailey
Susan Benjamin
Stan Cameron
Jeff Clark
LeeAnn Cole

Will Davies
David Green
Satpaul Singh Johal
Brad MacDonald
Kathy McDonald
Jill Promoli

Student Trustees:

Avneet Athwal, Student Trustee North Evelyn Lee, Student Trustee South

Administration:

Rashmi Swarup, Director of Education

Harjit Aujla, Acting Associate Director, School Improvement and Equity, Leadership, Innovation and Safe Schools

Paul da Silva, Associate Director, School Improvement and Equity, Special Education, Social Emotional Learning and Well Being

Jaspal Gill, Associate Director, Operations and Equity of Access

Camille Logan, Associate Director, School Improvement and Equity, Curriculum and Instruction, Student and Community Engagement

Tania Alatishe-Charles, Controller, Finance Support Services

Dahlia Battick, Acting Superintendent of Education

Craig Caslick, Superintendent of Education

Lara Chebaro, Superintendent of Education

Yonnette Dey, Superintendent of Equity, Community Leadership, Partnership and Engagement

Wendy Dobson, Controller, Corporate Support Services

Donna Ford, Superintendent of Education

Soni Gill, Superintendent of Education

Tiffany Gooch, Executive Lead, Public Engagement and Communications

Leslie Grant, Superintendent of Education

Antoine Haroun, Chief Information Officer, Learning Technology Support Services\

Lisa Hart, Superintendent of Equity, Indigenous Education, Anti-Racism, Anti-Oppression and School Engagement

Rasulan Hoppie, Superintendent, Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment

Administration (Cont'd):

Masuma Khangura, Executive Officer, Human Resources, Partnerships and Equity Lisa Leoni, Superintendent, Leadership, Capacity Building and School Partnerships Kathryn Lockyer, General Counsel and Governance Officer

Luke Mahoney, Superintendent of Education

Ozma Masood, Superintendent of Education

Jennifer Newby, Superintendent, Special Education and Social Emotional Learning and Well-being

Neerja Punjabi, Superintendent of Education
Claudine Scuccato, Superintendent of Education
Bernadette Smith, Superintendent, Innovation and Research
Michelle Stubbings, Superintendent, Safe and Caring Schools
Thomas Tsung, Controller, Facilities and Environmental Support Services
Kervin White, Superintendent of Education
Mary Zammit, Superintendent of Education

Nicole Fernandes, Board Reporter

1. Call to Order

The Secretary of the Board and Director of Education, Rashmi Swarup, called the meeting to order at 19:00 hours. She advised that, because the Board remains under Ministry supervision, she will preside over the entire meeting.

2. Opening: Treaty Partner Elder Garry Sault

Treaty Partner Elder Garry Sault addressed the gathering and performed a smudging ceremony.

3. Declaration of Oaths

Director Swarup administered the Oath of Office for trustees elected for the term November 15, 2022 to November 14, 2026. Trustees declared and signed the Oath of Office, and signed and acknowledged receipt and adherence to the Trustee Code of Conduct.

4. Election of Chair

Director Swarup noted that Supervisor Bruce Rodrigues continues to be the spokesperson for the Board and the sole decision-maker for the Board of Trustees. She stated that Supervisor Rodrigues had determined that a Chair and Vice-Chair should be elected by the newly sworn-in Board of Trustees at this time. While the full duties of the Chair and Vice-Chair may not be exercised, some of the duties will be performed by the elected Chair and Vice-Chair.

4. Election of Chair (Continued)

Internal Auditors, Tony Ronca and Carlo Avolio were present to act as scrutineers.

Director Swarup called for nominations for the position of Chair of the Board for the term November 15, 2022 to November 14, 2023.

Trustee Lucas Alves nominated Trustee Kathy McDonald. Trustee Stan Cameron nominated Trustee David Green.

The nomination of Trustee McDonald for the position of Chair, Peel DSB, was moved by Trustee Alves, and seconded by Trustee Promoli.

The nomination of Trustee Green for the position of Chair, Peel DSB, was moved by Trustee Cameron, and seconded by Trustee Benjamin.

There were no further nominations.

Resolution No. 23-01 moved by Brad MacDonald seconded by Stan Cameron

Resolved, that the nominations for the position of Chair of the Peel District School Board be closed.

..... carried

The nominees for the position of Chair, Trustees McDonald and Green, gave a brief address about their candidacy.

Following a secret ballot vote, scrutineered by the Internal Auditors, Director Swarup declared Trustee David Green elected as Chair of the Peel District School Board for the term November 15, 2022 to November 14, 2023.

5. Election of Vice-Chair

Director Swarup, called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board for the term November 15, 2022 to November 14, 2023.

Trustee Brad MacDonald nominated Trustee LeeAnn Cole.

Trustee Lucas Alves nominated Trustee Jill Promoli.

The nomination of Trustee Cole for the position of Vice-Chair, Peel DSB, was moved by Trustee MacDonald, and seconded by Trustee Green.

The nomination of Trustee Promoli for the position of Vice-Chair, Peel DSB, was moved by Trustee Alves, and seconded by Trustee Karla Bailey.

There were no further nominations.

5. Election of Vice-Chair (Continued)

Resolution No. 23-02 moved by Stan Cameron seconded by Lucas Alves

Resolved, that the nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Peel District School Board be closed.

..... carried

The nominees for the position of Vice-Chair, Trustees Cole and Promoli, gave a brief address about their candidacy.

Following a secret ballot vote, scrutineered by the Internal Auditors, Director Swarup declared Trustee LeeAnn Cole elected as Vice-Chair of the Peel District School Board for the term November 15, 2022 to November 14, 2023.

6. Director's Remarks

Director of Education, Rashmi Swarup, congratulated trustees on their election and stated that she looks forward to working with them to build a more responsive education system. She noted Peel DSB's dedication and commitment to achieving the mandates of the Ministry Directives and beyond, and continuing to build a system rooted in equity, inclusion, and human rights, by dismantling various forms of racism, oppression, and marginalization. Director Swarup remarked that the Board's mission to inspire success, confidence and hope in each student is guided by the four (4) system priorities outlined in the Board Improvement and Equity Plan: Achievement; Human Rights and Equity; Mental Health, Well-Being and Engagement; Pathways and Transitions. Looking to the future, she indicated that the trustees' leadership on policy and strategic direction is vital in creating equitable, inclusive, and innovative learning opportunities for students to meet their full potential. Following the Director's remarks, the video from Starting Point was shown.

A copy of the Director's remarks is attached at APPENDIX I.

7. Adjournment

...... Chair Secretary